SONS OF BUTCHER Release “Quaranteen”

We’ve all been pent up stuck in our own little quarantine during the COVID-19 pandemic and Canada’s most formidable “mock rock” band Sons of Butcher know exactly how you feel. That’s why they’ve created a new collection of tunes, aptly named Lockdown In Steeltown

Today, SOB shares some visual comedic relief and empathy on how we are all raging inside from this present-day way of life. Today, they present their new music video “Quaranteen”, featuring vocalist/guitarist Ricky Butcher’s loss to insanity while living in his hilarious superficial prison.

Sons of Butcher‘s Ricky Butcher adds: “It’s summer in Steeltown, but a quarantine order has changed all of Ricky Butcher‘s plans. This was the first song written for the Lockdown In Steeltown EP. It was four days into the quarantine in March, during Earth Hour, I wrote this song on an acoustic by candlelight as a joke. I recorded it the next day and showed the boys. Little did I know this one song would spark the creation of an entire Sons of Butcher EP!”

Watch “Quaranteen”HERE.

Sons of Butcher‘s new EP Lockdown In Steeltown is the first release from the band in four years and comes right after the announcing that they will be creating a third season of their TV show with the entire original team that was previously aired on Teletoon in Canada. 

Sons of Butcher wrote the EP in the spring right when quarantine measures were enforced around the world and it goes through some of the experiences that SOB would likely be facing during that time. Meant to be a distraction from all the craziness, Sons of Butcher explains the EP:

“This EP is a look into the lives of these cartoon rockers as they’re forced to lockdown in place in their hometown of Steeltown. Each character is coping in their own way and has their own song to express it.”

Singing about meat, sex, and everything in between, SOB are a mixed bag of rude unapologetic party rock from the bowels of Steeltown. Fans can expect much more from them as they are just ramping up and will be starting the new season of the show as soon as they complete the pilot.

Recommended for fans of Tenacious D, Spinal Tap, and Van Halen, Sons of Butcher‘s new EP Lockdown In Steeltown is available on BandcampSpotify, and Apple Music.

Lockdown In Steeltown Track Listing:
1. Lockdown Phase One 
2. Quaranteen 
3. Fuckin’ Confused 
4. Speaking Moistly 
5. Lockdown in Steeltown

Sons of Butcher is a Canadian rock band consisting of four members, Ricky Butcher (vocals/guitar), Doug Borski (vocals, bass), Sol Butcher (vocals), Colin Van Ham Steak (lead guitar), and Sausage Ralph (drums).

Their music fuses vulgar absurdist comedy with rock music in a style that is described as “mock rock”.

Their band alter-egos are the focus of an animated television series developed by S&S Productions and aired on Canadian animation network Teletoon which follows the lives of two brothers who run a butcher shop. Butchers by day, rockers by night, the name ‘Sons of Butcher’ can also be taken literally as Ricky and Sol’s father was a butcher.

Admiring the comedy and rock fusion of bands like Tenacious D and Spinal Tap, the brothers came up with this idea in college around the year 2000. Passing a script off to one of the producers of the classic Canadian sitcom Red Green led to the show becoming a reality. After the first season aired, it became clear the fictitious band needed to come to life. Soon they were playing live shows and releasing albums.

Sons of Butcher has released 5 full lengths, Self-Titled (2005), Meatlantis (2007), Rise of the Steaks (2010), Fall of the Steaks (2010), and C Sections (2016).

Clad in spandex outfit, straight from the cartoon series, Sons of Butcher compliments their raunchy lyrics with onstage antics and sketchy and of course, their ferociously heavy tunes. There are even pepperette throwing and the signature meat tray that is paraded around the room for all to sample.

The comedic rock party has no plans of slowing down, in 2020 they released an aptly timed EP Lockdown In Steeltown on June 19th via Infamous Butcher Records.